On Death and Dying

April 3, 2008

I was in the office today when I got an overseas call from a friend. He asked me if I had read the e-group bulletin of our highschool class. I said ‘No, the internet connection here in the office is terrible right now…” He went on to tell me about the sudden passing of a batchmate due to a heart attack this morning.

I grew faint. I could not believe the news I was hearing. I was just with this person along with some of my classmates early last month as we were talking about our upcoming highschool 25th year reunion in November. I just saw him a couple of weeks ago. We were just talking and having a grand time singing together after our meeting.

I could still see him. I could still read his sms on my phone. Our class has not met for 25 years… and now as we getting reconnected, we are also getting rudely awakened by the brevity of our lives.

Goodbye Bien.
We are just grateful that we were given the chance to reconnect with you starting with the Christmas party last December. Somehow when news like these happen, we are all changed. We are all united. We are all sobered by the brevity of our lives. Thank you Bien for the wonderful songs you sang the last time we were together. If we only knew that it would be the last time for us to hear your melodious voice… we would have given you the whole night. Thank you for being in the meetings. Thank you for being the kind-hearted soul that you were.The whole batch will miss you. And as we prepare closer to the 25th reunion, we will remember you and the rest of our dearly departed batchmates.
Romans 8: 38 – 39 states that nothing can ever separate us from the love of God. Not death, not life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present not the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Goodbye Bien. Rest in the loving embrace of our Father in Heaven.

 

One Response to “On Death and Dying”

  1. purplethoughts Says:

    This is very sobering.


Leave a Reply

