On Contemplation

April 6, 2008

“The life of contemplation… is the life of the Holy Spirit in our inmost souls. The whole duty of contemplation is to abandon what is base and trivial in (your) own life, and do all (you) can to conform… to the secret and obscure promptings of the Spirit of God. This requires constant discipline of humility, obedience, self-distrust, prudence and above all of faith.”

– Thomas Merton

Lord, cause me to abandon everything that is base and trivial in my life and cause me to be conformed to the secret promptings of your Spirit. Keep me in constant humility, obedience and teach me to always walk in faith. Let me live a holy, contemplative life, that your Spirit’s indwelling presence be unhindered in my life…..

– oftherock

Leave a Reply

