“Shout To The Lord” on Idol Gives Back…

April 11, 2008

I was getting ready for a flight to the South of the country when the show American Idol Gives Back was on StarWorld. I had to stop for awhile and just watched the whole show.

Seeing so much pain and misery is really heartbreaking. You wish you could just really do something to ease the pain, poverty, AIDS… and all the human misery. It was very touching to see those celebrities visit the poor and the oppressed. I was thinking about all the money being spent in wars.. and how much that amount may really help all the poor people in the world. I think of all the time when we have not paid them any attention.

I was praying for the children. I was praying for that old grandmother who is taking care of 8 grandchildren because her four children had died of AIDS. My heart went out to that 14-year old girl who has AIDS yet never missed a school assignment. I prayed for the lady who tediously visits the children to give them whatever medicine is available.

They really need help. They really need us. But many times when I look at myself and what I can do, I find myself too limited and too overwhelmed. They need us – and we need each other.

And all of us, we really need the Lord Jesus.

I was shaking in tears when the finale came and the American Idol participants sang “Shout to the Lord”.. I took note of how the name of Jesus was omitted…. but nonetheless, the message stayed the same. I was praising God because here was probably the most watched TV show in the planet, viewed by more than 30 million people – and a group of 8 singers leading a multitude on stage, singing a very powerful Christian song of praise to HIM who can “wipe out every tear from their eyes….Him who can remove all their sorrows, and there will be no more death, no more crying. For the old world and its evils are gone forever… Rev. 21:4

What a powerful ending! The whole earth will really sing of His precious name.

Shout to The Lord

My Jesus, My Savior,
Lord, there is none like You;
All of my days
I want to praise
the wonders of Your mighty love.

My comfort, my shelter,
Tower of refuge and strength;
let every breath, all that I am
never cease to worship You.

Shout to the Lord, all the earth,
let us sing
power and majesty, praise to the King;
mountains bow down and the seas will roar
at the sound of Your name.
I sing for joy at the work of Your hands,
forever I’ll love You, forever I’ll stand,
nothing compares to the promise I have in You.

“Lord I sing for joy at the work of Your hands. Forever I will love you and because of You I will forever stand. Lord nothing compares, nothing in this world compares to the promise I have in You.

AMEN.

Leave a Reply

